Writing in the Now


“The only place where you can or need to be free is this moment. Not the rest of your life. Just now.”—  Eckhart Tolle

What a wonderful way to think!  I have been trying to learn to do this in my daily life although it hasn’t been easy.  Some days, like today, I slip into the abyss and it takes something pretty phenomenal to pull me back out.  Tonight I had that experience of being saved from my self pity. After a day of life shattering moments–including my toilet backing up–I packed up all the woes and went to my writing group which I just recently joined. It was an evening of pure joy to critique and listen to some kick-ass writers put their stuff out there.  I know they all had their issues, their disappointments today or this week, but yet, they continued on with what they most love- their writing!
Writing can be a lonely road, a cornacopia  of emotions from frustration, depression, self degradation.  It is no wonder that writers take to drink!  We can be the hardest on ourselves and our talents. We are exceptional at coming up with excuses for our lack of words.  Today my big excuse was “I just can’t deal anymore!” I found out I can, despite the hours of tears I spent on something I no longer have control over. My writing is and always has been my escape into worlds and places and people that I can control.
If we take the words of Eckart Tolle and apply them to writing, what freedom that can give us!  Let’s stop being so hard on ourselves and just write in the moment.  So what if we won’t make our deadline.  Throw the deadline out the window if it is adding pressure! Need a break?  Who doesn’t?  It is perfectly okay to “live in the moment” and be good to yourself.  That time spent away from the computer may just be what one needs to free the words from the prison we have put on them.   Give yourself permission to enjoy life and your writing.The best writing comes when it just flows.  Take a breath, a time out if needed, and just write in the moment, for the very joy of it.
2 thoughts on “Writing in the Now

    • Thanks for your comments, Cindy. I’m trying very hard to move forward with this thing we call writing. It is truely what I have been meant to do. I just need to find the right path. I’m so happy for you that you finished your book! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

