Imagination


“I like nonsense.  It wakes up brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living.  It’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope, which is what I do, and that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.”  Dr. Seuss

Today I was with a high school student to take her to an informational interview with a police officer. I provide these informational interviews to students who are interested in doing career searches. She lives in a rural community so we had quite a distance to travel to the State Police department where she would be met by the officer.

 

On our drive there we were talking about the kids today and how they don’t have imagination. I had to agree with her to a point, as I feel that with all the computer games and tv shows available to kids today, they lose their imagination when the pixels do the work for them. She said she had no imagination, not because of computer games, but because her father told her she didn’t have an imagination anymore since diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome. If you are interested in learning about Asperger’s Syndrome, you can find information at http://www.aspergerssociety.org

 

I cannot attest to that as being true or not true, but it made me think of how my life would be colorless without my imagination. As a child, I was friendless because of no kids to play with in the neighborhood other than boys. My mother hated it when I would sneak off to play with them, and would always punish me if I came home muddy from playing war in our dugouts. It was my girlish wish that I had been born a boy because of the fun they could have, while we girls had to sit pretty with our curled hair and starched dresses. How boring being a girl was- especially for a girl who didn’t get into playing with dolls.

 

So began my imagination.  I used it to be my friend and my constant companion while I wrote stories and poetry of adventure. I would read whatever I could get my hands on, and while most kids were out having real adventures, I was reading about them, and creating adventures in my own little world. I was told I was a strange girl by the neighbors because I would create these stories just to get some shock value from them. I guess I was a bit passive/aggressive in those young years. My mother would always ask me “why?” Out would come another story, until I realized that storytelling in that way was not conducive to being accepted or believed.

 

As a mother of six, my imagination again rose as I saw life through those young eyes. They came up with some “stories” of their own as all kids do, but I relished in their play and their laughter while making their own little worlds of fantasy. I never told them to  put their imagination to rest. It is best shown in my adult son’s artwork as he pulls out his imagination in his illustrations, ( http://www.vonecker.carbonmade.com ) and in the humor of my other adult sons, and the empathy my daughters have for other people.

 

As a writer we all have our secret worlds, places to escape to, but imagination is also good for reinventing oneself as circumstances in our lives change, or what we have done just doesn’t work anymore. After life threw me some real curves, I have been on that path of reinvention. In my next post I will be discussing the ways one can reinvent themselves through imagination.

 

I’m interested in how you have used your imagination to reinvent yourself.  Please share with me your stories.

 


13 thoughts on “Imagination

  1. i am 52 and have been a caregiver of my 93 year old mom for about four years. She passed away sadly on February 23rd. While she was alive I started a website, http://www.50plusstickingtogether.com. My goal was to encourage we 50 something ladies that no matter what hand we were dealt it really is the best time of our lives….it is our second chapter so embrace each day even when it is hard. While Mom was alive my imagination was endless….i had our neighbors over twice….once for a 50s party….we had hotdogs, hamburgers, rootbeer floats….right before mom was put in the hospital for pneumonia she helped me make chocolate lollipops for valentines day. we had the neighbors up again for heart shaped sandwiches and valentines floats with strawberry icecream, gingerale and whipped cream…..we had send a card to a friend day where we baked cookies and dropped notes and cookies in mailboxes. the possibilities for my imagination were endless. I was going to stop my website and blogradio show but am now thinking I am going to continue. My imagination is flowing as to what my new job in life will be. I know my possibilities are still endless…..I hope you will look at my website sometime when you get the chance….

  2. Pingback: Recommended Whatever Life Hands Out

  3. How wonderful to have those memories of your mother.! My mother is 89 and is as healthy as a horse although she is “losing it” to some extent. Don’t stop your website and blog radio! What a wonderful venue to bring people together! I admire your abilities in doing this. I have trouble with the tech stuff, and have had to learn to deal with it myself– which is very hard for me! My imagination puts on the brakes when it comes to “techy.” I look forward to reading your blog, Donna. Thanks so much for readying mine.

  4. imagination is a God gift… I think it is spice… icing… coloured jello cubes in a bathtub… the fun of life!
    I enjoyed your post and also looking through your son’s work… he is very natural in his work…

    • I loved this beautiful poem you wrote. It took me back to how things were with me, and with “us”. I am thankful that I came to God again, and pray that my ex will one day too feel his love. Thanks so much for reading my post and looking through my son’s work. I appreciate your thoughts so much!

  5. Give me a break, disability or no disability one can have an imagination! I am not saying this because I have two sons who are on opposite end of autism spectrum either. One is severly autistic and the other is high functioning.

    That dad doesn’t know what he’s talking about. Shame on him. I hope that young person ignores the comment and dares themselves to prove thier dad wrong in every way possible. Release thy imagination!! Be free!

  6. How can a parent ever tell their child they have no imagination? I never even considered that form of torture but it seems like it’d be worse than any kind of abuse I could imagine.

    My imagination drives everything I do. It’s what motivates me to keep working to better myself, imagining the things I might be capable of. I imagine the rewards of success to fight back the fears of failure. Basically, I imagine my ideal life and try to make it real. But without a vivid enough picture, I don’t think I would be enticed enough to really put in the effort.

  7. ‘As a writer we all have our secret worlds, places to escape to, but imagination is also good for reinventing oneself as circumstances in our lives change, or what we have done just doesn’t work anymore.’

    Wonderfully put, Cindy!

Leave a Reply

