The Whisper- I Did Done Do It


For thirty years I have written stories for my children and grandchildren. There have been action stories, fantasy stories, and many Christmas stories. My stories are my gift to my children as they have been written with love, humor, and good life lessons. I never felt that they meant anything to them as they never jumped for joy when I announced I had another story to read, but I continued to write them and read them as they grew up. Now I write for their kids.

A few months ago, my son Derek, asked me if I was ever going to do anything with The Whisper. I was dumbstruck that he even remembered the story let alone ask if I would someday get it published. I joked with him and told him that I had been waiting for him to grow up so he could do the cover. He called my bluff and asked me to send the first three chapters to him and he would do the cover! I had no choice but to finish it. He put me on the spot and off on another writing spree of editing and re-editing. He got me excited again about that old story.

For years I kept my stories hidden from anyone but my children. I don’t know why, really. I suppose I felt they weren’t good enough or strong enough to stand up against the change in kids of today. I didn’t write about vampires and strong evil out to kill. I just wrote good fantasy that was about good feelings and life’s lessons. When Derek asked me to do something with it, I thought, what the heck, at least the kids will have an actual book I wrote.

My son gave me a gift- that of encouragement and the feeling that my book may be worth something special to some little kid who might just like the softer fantasy of wizards and adventure. Time will tell, but I’m going for it. The next chapter book is in the works and will be a continuation of Tippin ,a twelve year old boy, and the aging Wizard Gladwyn, whose spells don’t always come easy. Together they journey on exciting adventures.

The Whisper is available on Amazon.com and Amazon Europe.

Derek Von Ecker is an artist, dreamer, and curator originally from Michigan, with a B.F.A from the College of Creative Studies in Detroit. Derek now resides in Chicago, Illinois where he draws inspiration from his imagination, pop-culture, and personal experiences to create his works of art. Von Ecker’s work can be seen in galleries throughout the Midwest, and his illustrations have been splashed across everything from children’s books, shoes, handbags, skateboards and t-shirts. To view more of Von Ecker’s work you can visit his web gallery at http://www.voncecker.carbonmade.com

8 thoughts on “The Whisper- I Did Done Do It

  1. Hi, Cindi – My mom and I enjoyed your mom’s and your visit this afternoon. As soon as you left, I looked up your book and read the first few of your blogs. You inspired me this afternoon as we talked and now as I read your reflections. They are uplifting.

  2. I am fortunate to have read this remarkable story. My 3 girls love the story line and it is beutifully written, Cindy you are a wonderful person and an amazing author. I can not wait for another book to be released, kids or adult.
    Keep it up!!!!

Leave a comment